505 Electrokinetics: Advancing the Fundamentals II

Wednesday, November 16, 2016: 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Embarcadero (Parc 55 San Francisco)
Electrokinetics describes interactions between electrical fields and particles to produce colloidal particle motion within a medium, which may be a fluid, or a porous or fibrous medium. A detailed understanding of particle-particle electrostatic forces is particularly relevant, and both experimental and simulation approaches are required to advance understanding of electrokinetic science. Therefore, contributions with novel approaches related to fundamental micro/nanoscale electrokinetic principles, modeling, and experimental studies are welcome. Topics may include electrokinetic networks, biosensors, chemical assays, electrophoretic mobility and electro-optics. In the submission clearly state the problem, motivation, and results.

2016 Annual Meeting of the AES Electrophoresis Society

Michael Hughes
Email: m.hughes@surrey.ac.uk

Nathan Swami
Email: nswami@virginia.edu

9:00 AM
(505a) Colloidal Dielectric Forces within an Electric Curtain
Ben King, J Devin Schneider, Matthew Larkin, John Tangney and Stuart J. Williams

9:15 AM
(505b) In-Situ Characterization of Electrophoretic Deposition Using the Quartz Crystal Microbalance
Alexandra Golobic, Norman Su, Jeffrey Urban, Andrew J. Pascall and Christine Orme

9:30 AM
(505c) Electrokinetics of Heterogeneous Ion-Exchange Membranes
Milos Svoboda, Lucie Vobecka, Kurospayeva Nazerke, Hsueh-Chia Chang and Zdenek Slouka

9:45 AM

10:00 AM
(505e) Effect of Intedigitated Electrode Asymmetry on Performance of Carbon Based AC Electroosmotic Micropumps
Matías Vázquez-Piñón, Lawrence Kulinsky, Victor H. Perez-Gonzalez, Marc J. Madou, Sergio O. Martinez-Chapa and Hyundoo Hwang

10:30 AM
(505g) Rapid Isoelectric Focusing of Proteins in 1 Mm Long Microchannels
Cornelius F. Ivory, Lang Qin and Danny Bottenus

10:45 AM
(505h) Reversible Assembly of Colloidal Particles Using Low Frequency Pulsed DC Electric Fields for Electrophoretic Displays
Elaine Lee, Jessica Dudoff, Hannah Coe, Brian Giera, Marcus Worsley, Joshua D. Kuntz, Luis A. Zepeda-Ruiz and Andrew J. Pascall