185 Excellence in Graduate Polymer Research

Monday, November 17, 2014: 3:15 PM
International 10 (Marriott Marquis Atlanta)
This is an honorary session consisting of talks by graduate students who have demonstrated excellence in chemical engineering research in any field regarding the area of polymer science and engineering. Speakers are nominated by their research advisors and selected by a committee. To be considered for this award the student must be working towards a Ph.D. degree and must not have completed the requirements for the Ph.D. before the application deadline (April 15, 2104). A nomination package is composed of: 1) a letter by the research advisor, 2) the curriculum vitae of the nominee, and 3) an abstract. Nominations packages are to be sent by the research advisor (as a single PDF file) directly to boudouris@purdue.edu with the subject line “AIChE 08A award student name”. The nomination package must be received by April 15, 2014 at 11:59p Eastern Time in order to be considered by the selection committee. The committee will select a finite number of applicants; these students will be invited to submit an abstract to AIChE for this session. Only students who are invited to submit an abstract to AIChE will be considered for this session. The committee will inform all applicants of their status by May 1, 2014. In order to be eligible for the final award, an invited student MUST also submit his/her abstract directly to AIChE by the abstract submission deadline for the Fall 2014 meeting.


Bryan W. Boudouris
Email: boudouris@purdue.edu

Keisha B. Walters
Email: kwalters@che.msstate.edu

3:30 PM

4:00 PM
(185d) Molecular Scale Behavior of Superspreading Agents
Rolf E. Isele-Holder and Ahmed E. Ismail

4:15 PM

4:30 PM
(185f) Zwitter-Wettability and Its Application to Antifogging Coatings
Hyomin Lee, Jonathan B. Gilbert, Francesco Angile, Daeyeon Lee, Michael F. Rubner and Robert E. Cohen

4:45 PM
(185g) Comparison of the Single Molecular Dynamics of Linear and Circular DNAs in Microfluidic Planar Extensional Flows
Yanfei Li, Christopher A. Brockman, Daniel Y. Yates, Kai-Wen Hsiao, Gregory B. McKenna, Charles M. Schroeder, Michael J. San Francisco, Julie A. Kornfield and Rae M. Anderson

5:15 PM
(185i) Characterizing the Nanoscale Building Blocks of a Stable Polymer Glass
Kimberly B. Shepard, Craig B. Arnold and Rodney D. Priestley

5:30 PM
See more of this Group/Topical: Materials Engineering and Sciences Division