666 Advances in Protein Expression and Post-Translational Modification Platforms

Thursday, November 20, 2014: 12:30 PM
205 (Hilton Atlanta)
This session will highlight advances in protein expression and post-translational modification in a wide variety of model and non-model platforms including bacteria, yeast, insect, mammalian, and plant cells as well as cell-free expression systems. Presentations focus on synthesis of spatially organized or scaffolded protein complexes, glycosylation, studies of protein biogenesis, protein folding, and the design of novel methods for protein display, editing and secretion, as well as advances in chemical biology that take advantage of post-translational modification techniques.


Michelle A. O'Malley
Email: momalley@engineering.ucsb.edu

Thomas J. Mansell
Email: thomas.mansell@colorado.edu

Mark A. Blenner
Email: blenner@clemson.edu

Tamara L. Kinzer-Ursem
Email: tursem@purdue.edu

12:30 PM
(666a) Towards the Cell-Free Expression of Glycoproteins
Kealan Exley, Kate Royle, Cleo Kontoravdi and Karen M. Polizzi

12:48 PM
(666b) Engineering Tyrosine Sulfation in E. coli
Katherine Stahel, Andrew Dippre, Andrew Larson, Kyle Pazzo and Mark A. Blenner

1:06 PM
(666c) The Impact of Protein Residue-Explicit Covalent Immobilization for Stability Enhancement (PRECISE) on Enzyme Biocatalysis
Jeffrey C. Wu, Chris H. Hutchings, Mark J. Lindsay, Chris J. Werner and Bradley C. Bundy

1:42 PM

1:48 PM
(666e) Synthesis of Therapeutic Proteins Using a Continuous Exchange Microfluidic System
Andrea Timm, Peter Shankles, Carmen M. Foster, Scott Retterer and Mitchel J Doktycz

2:24 PM
(666g) Expression, Purification and Characterization of Recombinant Human Butyrylcholinesterase in Nicotiana Benthamiana
Salem Alkanaimsh, Bryce Hashimoto, Andrés Guerrero, Min Sook Hwang, My Phu, Aye Tu, Lucas Arzola, Kalimuthu Karuppanan, Carlito Lebrilla, Abhaya M. Dandekar, Bryce W. Falk, Somen Nandi, Raymond Rodriguez and Karen A McDonald

2:42 PM
(666h) Robust Cell-Free Production of Active Recombinant Human Phosphoproteins
Javin P. Oza, Hans R. Aerni, Svetlana Rogulina, Jesse Rinehart and Michael C. Jewett
See more of this Group/Topical: Food, Pharmaceutical & Bioengineering Division