550 Drug Delivery II

Wednesday, October 31, 2012: 3:15 PM
Somerset West (Westin )
This session deals with the latest advances in drug delivery methods and related technologies. Specific topics of interest include (not limited to) novel drug carriers and drug delivery device as well as new drug release/activation strategies.

Engineering Fundamentals in Life Science
Biomedical Applications of Chemical Engineering (T7)

Kathryn A. Whitehead
Email: kawhite@mit.edu

Harvinder Gill
Email: harvinder.gill@ttu.edu

Seungpyo Hong
Email: sphong@uic.edu

Joshua Ramsey
Email: josh.ramsey@okstate.edu

3:15 PM
(550a) Drug Encapsulated Polymeric Microspheres for Temporally-Staged, Localized Brain Tumor Therapy
J. Alaina Floyd, Anna Galperin, Rohan Ramakrishna, Robert Rostomily and Buddy Ratner

3:51 PM
(550c) Stabilization of Pneumoccoccal Surface Protein A in Polyanhydride Nanoparticles: Consequences for the Design of a Pneumonia Vaccine
Shannon Haughney, Latrisha Petersen, Janice King, Amanda Ramer-Tait, Amy Schoofs, David Briles, Michael J. Wannemuehler and Balaji Narasimhan

4:09 PM
(550d) Oral Mucosal Vaccination Using Coated Microneedles
Yunzhe Ma, Wenqian Tao and Harvinder Gill

4:27 PM
(550e) Transdermal Delivery of Biopharmaceuticals Using Microsecond Thermal Ablation
Jeong Woo Lee, Priya Gadiraju, Jung-Hwan Park, Mark G. Allen and Mark R. Prausnitz

4:45 PM
(550f) 28-Day Ocular Delivery of Brimonidine Tartrate From Rationally Designed Degradable Microparticles In a Rabbit Model
Morgan Fedorchak, Jeremy Wingard, Carlos A. Medina, Eiyass Albeiruti, Joel S. Schuman and Steven R. Little

5:03 PM
(550g) Preclinical Evaluation of Treg Recruiting Microparticles for the Treatment of Periodontitis
Andrew J. Glowacki, Sayuri Yoshizawa, Siddharth Jhunjhunwala, Gustavo P. Garlet, Charles Sfeir and Steven R. Little

5:21 PM
(550h) Development of Two Steps Tissue Allograft with Sequential Growth Factor Delivery to Promote Revascularization in Denudated Pneumonectomy Bronchial Stump
Eva M. Martín del Valle, Cristina Rodriguez Rivero, Gonzalo Varela, Dolores Ludeña, Marta Regueiro-Purriños and Miguel A. Galán