185 Advances in Electrophoresis for Protein Separation and Analysis

Tuesday, October 30, 2012: 8:30 AM
Fayette (Westin )
Studies of protein expression patterns play a vital role in understanding the complex responses of cells, tissues, and organisms to stimuli or mutations. While recent developments have allowed these patterns to be investigated at an unprecedented level of detail, further advances are needed in order to fully illuminate the interplay among the many factors governing cellular response. Specifically, new technologies are needed that provide quantitative information with high sensitivity and throughput. This session will focus on the development of such proteomic technologies and their applications. Of particular interest are papers describing advances in electrophoretic protein separations, novel means of detecting and quantifying proteins, methods of analyzing specific protein classes, mass spectroscopic methods, and other related technologies. Papers are also sought that present research on the proteomic analysis of post-translational modifications.

Topical 3: 2012 Annual Meeting of the American Electrophoresis Society (AES)

Tom Berkelman
Email: Thomas_Berkelman@bio-rad.com

Phil Beckett
Email: phil.beckett@ge.com

8:30 AM
(185a) High Dynamic Range Proteomics
Phu Van and Jonathan Minden

8:45 AM

9:00 AM
(185c) Deglycosylation of Receptor Tyrosine Kinases to Improve Resolution On 2D Gels
Nancy Kendrick, Matt Hoelter, Jon Johansen and Mary Ann Gawinowicz

10:15 AM
(185h) Evaluation of Stain-Free Chemistry for Gel Electrophoresis Based Shotgun Proteomic Workflows
Sricharan Bandhakavi, Tim Wehr, Todd Markowski, LeeAnn Higgins, Xiaoyi Xu, Aran Paulus and Christopher Belisle

10:30 AM
(185i) Protein Streaming Via Insulator-Based Dielectrophoresis in a Microfluidic Platform
Asuka Nakano, Fernanda Camacho-Alanis, Tzu-Chiao Chao and Alexandra Ros

10:45 AM
(185j) In Silico Discovery of Biomarker Proteins for Periodontitis Using High-Throughput Proteomics and Mixed-Integer Linear Optimization
Richard C. Baliban, Dimitra Sakellari, Zukui Li, Yannis Guzman, Peter A. DiMaggio Jr., Benjamin A. Garcia and Christodoulos A. Floudas