Improvement of Catalytic Hydrogen Production From Methane Using Dense Ba0.5Sr0.5Co0.8 Fe0.2Ox Ceramic Membranes

Thursday, November 11, 2010: 3:57 PM
251 D Room (Salt Palace Convention Center)
Sedigheh Faraji1, Karen Nordheden2 and Susan Stagg-Williams2, (1)Chemical Engineering Department, California State University, Long Beach, Long Beach, CA, (2)The university of Kansas, Lawrence, KS

Dense oxygen-permeable ceramic membranes have been explored as an alternative oxygen source for carbon dioxide reforming of methane to syngas (CO+H2). In this study, the effects of various parameters on syngas production over a dense Ba0.5Sr0.5Co0.8Fe0.2Ox (BSCF) membrane have been investigated. These parameters include catalysis type, reaction temperature, membrane thickness, pH, and feed concentration. Although Pt-Ni/Al2O3 catalyst shows high methane conversion in the presence of the BSCF membrane at 800C, the activity of this catalyst is low at 600C. Pt-Ni/CeZrO2 bimetallic catalyst demonstrates superior performance compared to Pt-Ni/Al2O3 catalyst at 600C. The BSCF membrane can reduce the apparent activation energy of CO2 reforming reaction by changing the reaction pathway. The BSCF membrane with low thickness demonstrates a higher methane conversion and H2:CO ratio than BSCF membrane with high thickness because membrane oxygen flux is inversely proportional to thickness. Varying the pH of the precursor solution during membrane preparation has no significant effect on the oxygen flux or the reaction. The CH4:CO2 feed ratio significantly affects the hydrogen production over the BSCF membrane. Altering the CH4:CO2 ratio has a direct impact on the oxygen flux, which in turn can influence the reaction pathway. These studies suggest that Pt-Ni/CeZrO2 catalyst might be suitable for low-temperature hydrocarbon conversion reactions over low-thickness BSCF ceramic membranes.

Extended Abstract: File Not Uploaded
See more of this Session: Catalytic Hydrogen Generation - General III
See more of this Group/Topical: Catalysis and Reaction Engineering Division