Wednesday, November 19, 2008: 12:30 PM-3:00 PM
Room 106-A (Pennsylvania Convention Center)

Thermodynamics and Transport Properties (01a)

#470 - Computational Studies of Self-Assembly II (01A19)
This session seeks papers that explore the thermodynamics, structural and dynamical properties of self-assembled systems. Subjects of interest include, but are not limited to: colloidal forces driving assembly, hierarchical organization, structural transitions, phase behavior, and multi-scale models spanning molecular to mesoscopic length and time scales for assembly. The emphasis is on simulation and computational papers, but theoretical models and complementary experimental papers are also welcome.
Chair:Alberto Striolo
CoChair:Hank Ashbaugh
CoSponsor(s):Computational Molecular Science and Engineering Forum (21)
12:30 PMDynamics of Formation and Disintegration of Ionic and Non-Ionic Spherical Micelles
Gunjan Mohan, Dmitry I. Kopelevich
12:51 PMComputation of the Thermodynamic and Structural Properties of Surfactant Tails In a Micelle Core Using a Monte-Carlo, Mean-Field Approach
Jonathan D. Mendenhall, Daniel Blankschtein
1:12 PMControlling Phase-Separated Patterns on Surfactant-Coated Nanotubes and Nanorods: Insights from Molecular Simulation
Chetana Singh, Sharon C. Glotzer
1:33 PMAnalysis of Molecular Dynamics Simulations of the Self-Assembly of Coarse Grained Surfactant Models
Samantha A. Sanders, Athanassios Z. Panagiotopoulos
1:54 PMMolecular Dynamics Simulation of the Mesophase Behavior of a Model Bolaamphiphilic Liquid Crystal with a Lateral Flexible Chain
Francisco Martínez-Veracoechea, Fernando A. Escobedo, Andrew J. Crane, Erich A. Muller
2:15 PMSelf-Assembly of Diblock Copolymers In Nanopatterned Confinement: Insight from Dissipative Particle Dynamics Simulations
Martin Lisal, John K. Brennan
2:36 PMEffects of Coarse-Graining on the Behavior of Self-Assembling Systems
Justin R. Spaeth, Dr. Athanassios Z. Panagiotopoulos, Dr. Yannis G. Kevrekidis

See more of Engineering Sciences and Fundamentals

See more of The 2008 Annual Meeting