Wednesday, November 19, 2008: 12:30 PM-3:00 PM
Franklin 13 (Marriott Philadelphia Downtown)

Bionanotechnology (22b)

#461 - Bionanotechnology Graduate Student Award Session (22B06)
This session will honor graduate students whose research achievements, in the broad area of bionanotechnology, demonstrate a high level of excellence. Six finalists will be selected from the abstract submissions to present their work in this award session. After completion of the presentations, at the end of the session, a panel of judges will determine 1st-3rd place. The details for participation in the session are included below. To be eligible for the award, the following criteria must be met: (1) Abstract submitted to one of the area 22b (Bionanotechnology) sessions. (2) Same abstract from (1) also submitted to this session. The title must be edited to begin with ‘Award Submission: ’. (3) The student that is applying for the award must be the 1st author on the presentation abstract. (4) The applicant must have at least one previously published peer-reviewed original research article as the first author. (5) By July 1st, 2008, an application packet must be submitted via e-mail to Prof. Zach Hilt (, and include the following information: a. Curriculum Vitae b. 2 letters of recommendation (1 from the PhD advisor). The letters should be e-mailed directly by the faculty that write the recommendations (pdf preferred). c. 1 referred research publication (published or in press) where the presenter is the 1st author (pdf). Do not submit Reviews, or research manuscripts that have been submitted or are in preparation.
Chair:Samir Mitragotri
Cochairs:J. Zach Hilt
Efrosini Kokkoli
12:30 PMAward Submission: Engineering Mucus Penetrating Particles for Transmucosal Delivery
Samuel K. Lai, Ying-Ying Wang, Ming Yang, Amanda Pace, Benjamin C. Tang, Richard Cone, Justin Hanes
12:55 PMAward Session: Single-Walled Carbon Nanotube Optical Biosensors for Multi-Modal and Single Molecule Detection of Genotoxic Agents
Daniel A. Heller, Hong Jin, Michael S. Strano
1:20 PMAward Submission: Targeting Colon Cancer Cells Using Pegylated Liposomes Modified with a Fibronectin-Mimetic Peptide
Ashish Garg, Alison W. Tisdale, Efrosini Kokkoli
1:45 PMAward Submission: Morphology and Size-Controlled Self-Assembling of Enzyme-Responsive Peptides
Weiping Wang, Ying Chau

See more of Nanoscale Science and Engineering Forum

See more of The 2008 Annual Meeting