Wednesday, November 15, 2006: 12:30 PM-3:00 PM
Union Square 14 (Hilton San Francisco)
#391 - Functional Nanoparticles and Nanocoatings on Particles II (03D03)
Papers on novel applications and/or synthesis routes of nanoparticles and their coatings are sought. Although the emphasis is on nanoparticles (<100 nm), studies on larger particle systems are also welcome. Special emphasis will be paid to in-situ functionalization of nanoparticles tailoring their properties to achieve high performance in the final application. Nanocoatings with inorganic and organic materials on particles will be highlighted which enhance for example catalytic activity, optical performance, band structure, dispersion in matrices etc. Authors are encouraged to present the connection between synthesis conditions, chemical and crystal composition, structure and the functionality in specific applications.
Chair:George Fotou
CoChair:Rajesh Dave
12:30 PMPreparation of Nano-Gypsum from Anhydrite Nanoparticles: Strongly Increased Vickers Hardness and Formation of Calcium Sulfate Nano-Needles
Neil Osterwalder, Stefan Loher, Robert N. Grass, Tobias J. Brunner, Samuel C. Halim, Ludwig Limbach, Wendelin J. Stark
12:51 PMShape Control of Electrostatically Capped Platinum Nanoparticles without Aid of Foreign Metal Ions
Hyunjoo Lee, Susan Habas, Sasha Kweskin, Gabor A. Somorjai, Peidong Yang
1:12 PMFunctionalization of Composite Al2o3/Metal Varistors Based on Ald Surface Modified Particles
Michael A. Weimer, Markus D. Groner, Alan W. Weimer, Steven M. George
1:33 PMSynthesis of Uniformly-Sized High Quality Cdse Tetrapods in High Yield
Subashini Asokan, Karl M. Krueger, Vicki Colvin, Michael S. Wong
1:54 PMPassivation of Si Nanocrystals Using Photo-Assisted Alkylation
Jonghoon Choi, Vytas Reipa, Nam Sun Wang
2:15 PMSimultaneous Nanoparticle Formation and Attachment to the Surface of Glass Beads by Plasma Enhanced Chemical Vapor Deposition
Adrian Spillmann, Philipp Rudolf von Rohr
2:36 PMElectrostatic Self-Assembly of Binary Nanocrystals with a Diamond-like Lattice
Bartosz A. Grzybowski, Alexander M. Kalsin, Marcin Fialkowski, Maciej Paszewski, Stoyan K. Smoukov, Kyle J. M. Bishop

See more of Particle Technology Forum

See more of The 2006 Annual Meeting